Alle Themen

CYBERCRIME – PEOPLE AS RISK FACTOR

20 Mar

  • in Uncategorized
  • von
  • 0
  • Do you sufficiently protect the access data to your systems?
  • Do you raise your staff’s awareness for the risks of social engineering?
  • Do you have a functioning backup method for restoring data?

The global threat that cybercrime poses is steadily growing and seems hardly containable. The ever-changing hacking methods present an enormous challenge to private people for protecting their data, but that applies even more so to businesses. Institutions and businesses try to counteract these increasing attacks using technical means, organizational measures and human resources. Cybercriminals have identified the biggest existing weakness in the systems and have changed their strategy accordingly: They are now taking aim at people. So, it is now up to businesses to change their strategy as well.

In the latest statistics published by the FBI, they inform the public about damages of 2.3 billion dollars suffered in 2016 through email scams in the United States. The main scenario was the so-called CEO scam. Strangers pretending to be the boss of a business demand from their employees to transfer money using fake emails. This kind of fraud that takes advantage of the weak point “people”, has already found its way to Germany. The most high-profile victim of cybercrime in Germany, the automotive supplier Leoni, suffered 40 million euros of damages in 2016.

The increased use of ransomware, which encrypts files on infected computers and does not decrypt and release the data until payment has been made (mainly in Bitcoins) has also left its marks. The most recent examples of such ransomware are Locky followed by WannaCry.

Another approach that uses the “people” weakness as well is to spy on them to get access details of important accounts, the so-called Phishing method. The hackers know the optimum times for their attacks, and send their emails increasingly between Tuesdays and Thursdays.

The money looted by cybercriminals, by the way, usually ends up on bank accounts in foreign countries; mainly in Hong Kong and China. It is quite pointless to hope for the police or the prosecuting attorneys to pursue these criminals and crack such cases. In addition to the lack of human resources that the investigative authorities struggle with at home, it is rather difficult to conduct investigations in foreign countries. The state of Bavaria has currently no more than 65 so-called cybercops!

For that reason, security measures ought to focus on email and the “people” factor as weaknesses and the means of crime that they have become. To help those involved to understand the hazards and the various forms of so-called hacks, they should be offered trainings to raise their awareness to that end. Carrying out trainings at regular intervals is the only way to make sure that awareness for risks is fostered in a sustained manner.

Urheberrecht Bild: (c) adimas – Fotolia.com

Share on Xing
0 Kommentare

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Cybercrime – Risikofaktor Mensch

13 Jun

  • in Alle
  • von
  • 0
  • Schützen Sie die Zugangsdaten zu Ihren Systemen ausreichend?
  • Sensibilisieren Sie Ihre Mitarbeiter/innen für die Gefahren des Social Engineering?
  • Haben Sie ein funktionierendes Backup-Konzept, um Daten wiederherstellen zu können?

Die weltweite Bedrohung durch Cybercrime wächst stetig und scheint kaum aufhaltbar. Die sich permanent ändernden Angriffsmethoden sind die große Herausforderung für Privatleute aber noch mehr für Unternehmen zum Schutz eigener Daten. Institutionen und Unternehmen versuchen mit technischen, organisatorischen und personellen Maßnahmen den wachsenden Angriffen entgegenzuwirken. Cyber-Kriminelle haben zwischenzeitlich die größte Schwachstelle ausgemacht und ihre Strategie verändert: Der Mensch wird nun ins Visier genommen. Somit muss sich die Strategie der Unternehmen verändern.

In einer kürzlich veröffentlichten Statistik informierte das FBI über einen Schaden von 2,3 Milliarden Dollar, der durch E-Mail-Betrug in den USA im Jahr 2016 verursacht wurde. Hauptszenario war der sogenannte CEO-Betrug. Unbekannte geben sich als Chefs aus und fordern Mitarbeiter mit fingierten E-Mails auf, Geld zu überweisen. Diese Art des Betrugs, bei dem die Schwachstelle Mensch ausgenutzt wird, ist längst auch in Deutschland angekommen. Prominentestes Cybercrime-Opfer, Autozulieferer Leoni, musste 2016 einen Schaden in Höhe von 40 Millionen Euro hinnehmen.

Auch der verstärkte Einsatz von Ransomware, bei dem auf infizierte Computer Dateien verschlüsselt und erst gegen Zahlung eines geforderten Betrages (meist in Bitcoins) wieder dechiffriert werden, hat seine Spuren hinterlassen. Jüngstes Beispiel hierzu sind Locky gefolgt von Wannacry.

Eine weitere Form, bei der die Schwachstelle Mensch ausgenutzt wird, ist das Ausspionieren von Zugangsdaten wichtiger Accounts, das sogenannte Phishing. Die Angreifer kennen die optimalen Zeitpunkte für ihre Attacken und versenden ihre E-Mails vermehrt dienstags bis donnerstags.

Die Gelder landen im Übrigen auf ausländischen Bankkonten, meist in Hongkong und China. Nachverfolgung oder Hoffnung auf eine Täterermittlung durch Polizeibehörden oder Staatsanwaltschaften, aussichtslos. Neben dem Ermittlungshindernis Ausland stellt die unzureichende Personaldecke der Ermittlungsbehörden ein weiteres Problem dar. In Bayern gibt es derzeit nur ca. 65 sogenannte Cybercops!

Sicherheitsmaßnahmen sollten sich deshalb auf das Tatmittel E-Mail und den Faktor Mensch als Schwachstelle konzentrieren. Awareness-Kampagnen und Schulungen müssen durchgeführt werden, um auf die Gefahren und die verschiedenen Formen der genannten Angriffe hinzuweisen. Trainings sind in regelmäßigen Abständen durchzuführen, nur so kann eine nachhaltige Sensibilität erreicht werden.

Urheberrecht Bild: (c) adimas – Fotolia.com

Teilen Sie diesen Eintrag.
Share on twitter
Share on google
Send contact request
Share on Xing
0 Kommentare

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.