Alle Themen

ORGANIZATIONAL RESILIENCE – ENHANCING THE RESILIENCE

20 Mar

  • in Uncategorized
  • von
  • 0

Kids love making a house of cards when they play, it is one their favorite games, especially on weekends and holidays when it is raining. It lifts their spirit and puts them in a good mood. However, the day-to-day professional life of grown-ups demonstrates that building a house of cards is one of their favorite games too. Some companies set up their organizations on shaky grounds and build structures that can meet sunny days head-on. Consequently, when a storm is approaching in form of a crisis, some companies collapse like a house of cards. This is as good a reason as any to put up a solid building. It is important to enhance on the resilience and innovative abilities of your own organization. The “construction plan” behind this is called Organizational Resilience.

Airports from London to Frankfurt in May 2017: British Airways is struggling against delays and flight cancellations because of an IT problem. A power failure is the cause of the malfunctions. The thousands of passengers stranded at the airports around the globe most probably can care less what has caused the chaos. But the cause does matter to those in charge of the British airline. There will be law-suits, claims for damages and a substantial blow to the airline’s image. Even if, or above all when, the failure was caused by a service provider, there was obviously no functioning Business Continuity Management (BCM) in place let alone tests that were conducted in advance on the resilience of the organization. “Organizational Resilience” is no longer such a new catchphrase. Webster defines Resilience as the general “ability to withstand difficult life situations without persistent damages” – the quality of quickly returning to a previous good condition after problems. If we convey that over to organizations, it would mean changes that occur suddenly – meaning crises and opportunities – can be intercepted and handled in advance. The malfunctions comprise a wide-ranging spectrum from an average outage in a company to a far-reaching crisis such as the power failure mentioned above. The fact that a power failure can lead to such a fiasco is quite irritating. Because clear rules, regulations and standards are not only meant to apply to air traffic and aviation industry. Other businesses, whether they are part of the aviation industry or a different sector, should also pay attention to their own resilience and work toward its improvement. Moreover, they should not do this only to avoid financial consequences and damages to their reputation. Since the lives of employees and customers, and their security might be at stake in many ways.

Various risks that see the organization as a whole

We live in a digital and tightly interlinked economic world, a setting that makes businesses vulnerable. This vulnerability can be caused by cyberattacks and sabotage, natural disasters, downtimes at the suppliers’ as well as geopolitical hazards. The weaknesses, gateways and risks are diverse and apply to many sectors. Therefore, organizations have no other choice but to gear up for potential malfunctions. However, the path that takes an organization away from handling isolated factors of interference and over to genuine resilience is not an easy path to tread. Because resilience is not the same as “surviving” a malfunction or a critical situation. It has a lot more to do with having an organization resort to means, tools and methods that would help it steer the business in turbulent times through countless changes, still allowing the business to grow. To accomplish that, a business should not only take factors like culture and raising awareness into account, but also really “technical” elements, like Business Impact Analyses and Risk Analyses are important factors to be considered, so those in charge can see the business as a whole and cultivate the skill to connect the dots.
In this context it is useful to spot the weaknesses of an organization by way of early-warning systems, and to include them in the overall planning. Most negative and positive interferences in a business are preceded by so-called precursors.

We can see this in the current technological conversion to digitalized processes and workflows, which means a structural transformation and change in values for many businesses. That is why we accompany these businesses with advice and derive the necessary forecasts for them. Such approach gives businesses and their top management a clear idea on the cause and effect correlations for their own organization. That way, a business can continue to enhance the resilience of their organization by way of selective and long-term improvements. And that is very important in today’s fast-paced digital age.
Decision makers up front, staff involved close behind

The management of a business has to bear the responsibility for every measure taken to achieve more resilience in their own organization. This simply means: Organizational Resilience begins in the minds of the decision makers. Not least because the monitoring duties and due diligence of the company’s management are among explicit tasks of the senior management. This extremely important interface between the top management and staff is about demonstrating that senior management sets a good example. Decision makers have to be the ones that initiate the process towards “Organizational Resilience”, who set the tone and actively accompany the subject. They should also be the ones who at least know the proper “toolbox”. Among the skills that the management has to exhibit are above all the ability to make clear decisions, set priorities and establish the company’s appetite for risks but also its risk bearing capacity.

The staff, in turn, has to be incorporated in this process closely and at the earliest stage possible. One of the decisive factors in this process is transparency. When it comes to “Organizational Resilience”, the world of standards simply says, “Be informed”. It is therefore indispensable for managers and everybody else involved to acquire the necessary information and to evaluate it together whenever necessary.
This also boosts the cultural aspects such as the “sense of unity”. And this is where the senior management comes in, who has to initiate and accompany this entire process transparently. For them it is basically about watching carefully and frequently scrutinizing their own actions, and asking the right questions: Is this the right strategy, and is the company’s course of actions the correct one for the digital challenges of our time? Is there any potential for improvement, and if yes, where? Does our organization learn from mistakes, and if yes, how? At what points should we get the staff fully on board? And will the staff understand the company’s line of approach and our strategic orientation? All the employees will get the necessary toolbox in between regular information events and training measures, which will enable them to contribute to progress in a solid and crisis-proof business. This is the way an organization can withstand a run of bad weather and will not crumble like a house of cards.

For more information go to: www.Rucon-Group.com.

Original contribution by Uwe Rühl for 3GRC.

Origin of photo material: Fotolia – Robert Kneschke

Share on Xing
0 Kommentare

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Organizational Resilience – Die Widerstandsfähigkeit ausbauen

25 Aug

  • in Fallbeispiele
  • von
  • 0

Kartenhäuser bauen ist eine beliebte Freizeitbeschäftigung bei den Jüngsten, gerade an verregneten Wochenend- und Urlaubstagen. Das hebt die Stimmung bei den Kleinen. Dass Kartenhäuser bei den Großen ebenso beliebt wie vielfache Praxis sind, zeigt sich im beruflichen Alltag. Manches Unternehmen stellt seine Organisation auf ein allzu wackeliges Fundament und baut für Schönwetter-Perioden. Das Resultat: Kommt eine Sturmfront in Form einer Krise auf, fällt so manche Firma wie ein Kartenhaus zusammen. Grund genug, solide zu bauen. Wichtig ist es, die Widerstands- und Innovationsfähigkeit der eigenen Organisation auszubauen. Der „Konstruktionsplan“ dahinter heißt Organizational Resilience.

Flughäfen von London bis Frankfurt im Mai 2017: Die Fluglinie „British Airways“ hat aufgrund eines IT-Problems mit massiven Flugausfällen sowie Verspätungen zu kämpfen. Ein Stromausfall sei der Grund für die Störungen. Den vielen tausend gestrandeten Passagieren an den Flughäfen dieser Welt dürfte die Ursache für das Chaos relativ egal gewesen sein. Den Verantwortlichen der britischen Airline weniger. Klagen, Entschädigungen und ein großer Imageverlust dürften die Folge sein. Auch oder gerade wenn der Ausfall wahrscheinlich bei einem Dienstleister aufgetreten ist, gab es scheinbar weder ein funktionierendes Business Continuity Management (BCM) geschweige denn, dass die Widerstandsfähigkeit der Organisation im Vorfeld getestet wurde. „Organisationelle Resilienz“ heißt das nicht mehr ganz so neue Schlagwort. Hinter Resilienz verbirgt sich nach Definition des Dudens allgemein die „Fähigkeit, schwierige Lebenssituationen ohne anhaltende Beeinträchtigung zu überstehen“. Übertragen auf Organisationen geht es also darum, plötzlich auftretende Veränderungen – sprich Krisen und Chancen – bereits im Vorfeld abzufangen und damit umzugehen. Die Bandbreite ist groß und reicht von der alltäglichen Störung im Unternehmen bis zur weitreichenden Krise – wie eben der genannte Stromausfall. Dass nun der Ausfall des Stroms ein solches Debakel hervorrufen konnte, irritiert. Einerseits bestehen nicht nur in der Luftfahrt klare Regeln, Normen und Standards. Auch sollten Unternehmen, ganz gleich ob in der Luftfahrt oder sonst in einer Branche, auf die eigene Widerstandsfähigkeit achten und darauf hinarbeiten. Und das nicht nur aufgrund möglicher finanzieller Folgen und Reputationsschäden. Denn die Sicherheit für Leib und Leben von Mitarbeitern und Kunden steht vielfach auf dem Spiel.

Vielfältige Risiken, die Organisation als gesamtes betrachten

Unsere digitale und eng vernetzte Wirtschaftswelt macht Unternehmen anfällig. Sei es aufgrund von Cyberangriffen und Sabotage, durch Naturkatastrophen, dem Ausfall von Zulieferfirmen sowie geopolitischen Risiken. Die Schwächen, Einfallstore und Risiken sind vielfältig und betreffen jede Branche. Ergo müssen sich Organisationen auf potenzielle Störungen einstellen. Der Weg von der Behandlung einzelner Störfaktoren hin zu einer widerstandsfähigen Organisation ist allerdings kein einfacher. Denn Resilienz bedeutet nicht nur das „Überleben“ einer Störung beziehungsweise eines kritischen Ereignisses. Es geht vielmehr darum, als Organisation auf Mittel, Wege und Methoden zurückzugreifen, um sich in unruhigen Zeiten durch die vielen Veränderungen zu manövrieren und dabei trotzdem zu wachsen. Dabei sind nicht nur Faktoren wie Kultur und Sensibilisierung wichtig, sondern echte „handwerkliche“ Elemente, wie Business-Impact-Analysen und Risikobewertungen als wesentliche Faktoren, um das Unternehmen als Ganzes zu betrachten und die Zusammenhänge zu erkennen.
In diesem Kontext ist es hilfreich, die Schwachstellen in einer Organisation mithilfe von Frühwarnsystemen zu lokalisieren und in die Gesamtplanung einzubeziehen. Vielen negativen sowie positiven Störungen in einem Unternehmen gehen sogenannte Vorläufer voraus.

So zeigt sich, dass der aktuelle technologische Wandel hin zu digitalisierten Prozessen und Abläufen für viele Unternehmen einen Struktur- und Wertewandel bedeutet. Und diesen gilt es zielführend zu begleiten sowie Prognosen abzuleiten. Mithilfe eines solchen Vorgehens gewinnen Unternehmen und deren Führungsgremien eine klare Vorstellung über Ursache-Wirkungs-Zusammenhänge für die eigene Organisation. So kann durch gezielte und langfristig angelegte Verbesserungen die Widerstandsfähigkeit eines Unternehmens zunehmend erhöht werden. Und das ist im schnelllebigen digitalen Zeitalter von immenser Bedeutung.
Entscheider nach vorne, Mitarbeiter eng einbinden

Bei allen Maßnahmen hin zu mehr Widerstandsfähigkeit für die eigene Organisation ist die Führungsetage des Unternehmens gefragt. Im Klartext heißt das: Organizational Resilience fängt in den Köpfen der Entscheider an. Nicht nur weil die Überwachungs- und Sorgfaltspflicht inklusive der Unternehmenssteuerung zu den expliziten Aufgaben der Geschäftsleitung gehört. An dieser wichtigen Nahtstelle zwischen Top-Management und Mitarbeitern geht es vor allem darum, mit gutem Beispiel im Unternehmen vorauszugehen. Entscheider müssen den Prozess hin zu einer „Organizationellen Resilience“ initiieren, Impulse setzen und das Thema aktiv begleiten und vorleben. Sie sollten aber eben auch den entsprechenden „Werkzeugkasten“ zumindest kennen. Besonders klare Entscheidungen zu treffen, Prioritäten zu setzen und den Risikoappetit, aber auch die Risikotragfähigkeit des Unternehmens festzulegen, sind handwerkliche Managementtätigkeiten.

Mitarbeiter wiederum gilt es, frühzeitig und eng in diesen Prozess einzubinden. Hier ist insbesondere Transparenz ein entscheidender Faktor. Die Normenwelt zur „Organizational Resilience“ spricht hier von „Be informed“. Es ist also unabdingbar, dass sich Manager und alle weiteren Personen die notwendigen Informationen beschaffen und diese, wo es geboten ist, gemeinsam bewerten.
Das stärkt auch die kulturellen Aspekte, wie das „Wir-Gefühl“. Und dafür braucht es die Geschäftsleitung, die diesen Gesamtprozess offen und transparent initiieren sowie begleiten muss. Im Grunde geht es auch darum, genau hinzuschauen und das eigene Tun regelmäßig zu hinterfragen: Stimmt die Strategie, die Ausrichtung des Unternehmens mit den digitalen Herausforderungen unserer Zeit überein? Wie und wo gibt es Verbesserungspotenzial? Wie lernt die Organisation aus Fehlern? An welchen Stellen müssen die Mitarbeiter umfassend mit ins Boot? Und verstehen die Mitarbeiter die eingeschlagene Marschrichtung der Unternehmung und ihrer strategischen Ausrichtung? Flankiert von regelmäßigen Informationsveranstaltungen und Schulungsmaßnahmen erhalten alle Mitarbeiter den notwenigen Werkzeugkasten, um an einer soliden und krisensicheren Firma mitzuwirken. Dann übersteht die Organisation auch Schlechtwetter-Perioden und fällt nicht wie ein Kartenhaus zusammen.

Weitere Informationen unter: www.Rucon-Gruppe.de.

Originalbeitrag von Uwe Rühl bei 3GRC.

Bildquelle: Fotolia – Robert Kneschke

Teilen Sie diesen Eintrag.
Share on twitter
Share on google
Send contact request
Share on Xing
0 Kommentare

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.